An Overview of Islam Holy Book

An Overview of Islam Holy Book

The Quran is like a unique book for Muslims. It’s essential to them because they believe it’s the exact words of God. An angel gave it to Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) over many years.

Inside the Quran, there are different parts, sort of like chapters and verses. It talks about lots of things, like how to be a good person and how to pray. It also tells stories about people from long ago, like prophets and Sahabas.

Moreover, people who follow Islam read or listen to the Quran to feel close to God. They even try to memorize it. The Quran helps them make good choices and guides their way of life.

Thus, this book is so particular that Muslims treat it with a lot of respect. They often read it during their prayers and find comfort and wisdom in its words.

There are several holy books in Islam, but the most important is the Quran. The Quran is the literal word of Allah) as revealed to the Muhammad(PBUH) through the angel Jibriel.

Moreover, you may also join eQuranekareem for Islamic information with religious scholars.

What is the first holy book of Islam?

The Sahifah, also known as the Scrolls of Ibrahim (Abraham), is an Islamic tradition belief that Ibrahim (Abraham) received divine revelations or scriptures from God. These scrolls are believed to contain guidance and teachings from God for the people of his time.

However, it’s important to note that these scrolls are not considered the same as the Quran, which Muslims believe to be God’s final and complete revelation.

Similarly, Islamic tradition mentions the Sahifah of Ibrahim; there needs to be more historical information about it, which is considered lost. The Quran revealed to the Prophet Muhammad is Islam’s ultimate and most comprehensive revelation.

Thus, it serves as the central holy book for Muslims.

What are the holy books of Islam?

Apart from the Quran, some other books and scriptures are also respected by Muslims:


These are collections of sayings, actions, and approvals of the Prophet Muhammad. Hadiths provide guidance on various aspects of life, including religious practice, ethics, and social conduct. While not considered on the same level as the Quran, they are crucial for understanding and interpreting Islamic teachings.

Quran or Tafseer Quran

Tafseer Quran refers to the commentary and interpretation of the Quran. Various scholars throughout history have written reports to help explain and elaborate on the verses of the Quran, making its message more accessible and understandable.

Injil (Evangel)

The Injil is believed to be the original Gospel revealed to Jesus (Isa in Arabic), considered a prophet in Islam. While Muslims believe in Jesus, they do not have the same Gospels as Christians. However, they believe the Injil has been lost or corrupted over time.

Tawrat (Torah)

The Tawrat is the holy book believed to have been revealed to the Prophet Moses (Musa in Arabic). It contains laws and guidance for the Children of Israel. Muslims also respect the Tawrat, but they believe it, like the Injil, has changed over time.

Zabur (Psalms)

The Zabur is associated with the Prophet David (Dawud in Arabic). While Muslims believe in the original revelation of the Zabur, the book of Psalms in the Bible is often seen as a distorted version of the Zabur.

How many holy books of Islam?

In the six pillars of Islam, it has been mentioned that every Muslim must believe in the holy books revealed by the prophets of Allah(SWT). Here is the list of the Holy books;

1.     The Quran was given to Muhammad SAW.

2.     The Torah was given to Hazrat Mosa (A.S), the Moses.

3.     The Injil was given to Hazrat Isa (A.S), the Jesus.  

4.     The Scrolls were given to Hazrat Ibrahim (A.S).

What are the 5 holy books in Islam?

There are not five holy books in Islam. The single holy book of Islam is the Quran.

Conversely, Islam also recognizes and respects five primary scriptures that God revealed to various prophets:

1.     Quran, which is revealed to Prophet Muhammad. Islam considers it the final, preserved, and untouched word of God.

2.     Torah/Pentateuch is revealed to Prophet Moses. It contains the first five books of the Old Testament.

3.     Zabur/Psalms are attributed to Prophet David in Islam and Judaism.

4.     Injil/Gospel is revealed to Prophet Jesus. Muslims believe the current Gospels have been altered from the original revelation to Jesus.

5.     Suhuf/Scrolls of Abraham, according to traditions, these scriptures were revealed to Prophet Ibrahim (Abraham). However, their original text needs to be recovered.

Best Islamic books

Indeed, here are some of the best Islamic books in a concise list:

The Tafseer Quran is Islam’s central and most important text, believed as revealed to the Prophet Muhammad.

Sahih al-Bukhari is a highly respected collection of hadith, guiding various aspects of life and is considered authoritative by Sunni Muslims.

Sahih Muslim is another esteemed hadith collection offering valuable insights into Islamic teachings and practices.


The Quran is a significant book for Muslims. It gives them advice and helps them be better people. The Quran was given to the Prophet Muhammad by Allah(SWT) over a long time. It’s written in a particular way and sounds excellent when you read it.

The Quran has many stories and Islamic history, like being kind and fair. It also tells people to believe in one God. People who follow Islam try to memorize and read it daily, especially during Ramadan.

Ultimately, the Quran isn’t just a religious book; it’s also essential for art and culture. It helps people from different backgrounds understand each other better and find things they have in common. eQuranekareem also serves as a guiding star for the Muslims, leading them to the righteous path.

Thus, the Quran shows how a sacred book can be powerful and essential to people’s lives in a world with many different beliefs. Whether you’re Muslim or want to learn about other religions, the Quran is a book worth knowing about.


What are the four concepts of Islam?

The four key concepts in Islam are Tawhid (belief in the oneness of God), Risalah (belief in prophethood and messengers), Akhirah (belief in the afterlife), and Salah (the practice of prayer).

What are the 4 holy books in Islam?

In Islam, there are four holy books:

The Quran, the Torah (Taurat), the Psalms (Zabur), and the Gospel (Injil).

Muslims believe these books were originally divine revelations, but the Quran is the final and most complete revelation, superseding and confirming the earlier ones.

Who was the first Prophet?

Hazrat Adam (A.S) was the 1st Prophet of Allah(SWT).

How many prophets in Islam?

2024000 prophets were sent to Muslim ummahs.

Why is the Quran important?

The Quran is important because it is considered the word of God in Islam, providing spiritual guidance, ethical principles, and a legal framework for Muslims while also shaping their cultural identity and worldview.

What is Islam’s holy book called?

Islam’s holy book is called the Quran, which Muslims believe to be the literal word of God as revealed to the Prophet Muhammad.

Table of Contents

Recent Blogs

Contact Us